Mini Book Reviews

In an effort to get back to blogging, I thought I’d update everyone on what I’ve read over the last few months. Thanks to the very lovely & patient people at Titan, I’ve been basically flooded with books to read, and although I don’t have time to do big lengthy reviews, I thought I’d just combine them all here.

The Bone Garden by Heather Kassner

IMG_3554

Wow, what a novel! I read this book in a few days, and enjoyed the creepy magic that poured from each page. With Tim Burton/Coraline vibes, this book will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morganstern, and can be enjoyed from readers aged 13+.

With gorgeous storytelling, intriguing characters and a hook-able plot, this is a fantastic debut novel, and I think will be perfect to enjoy over Halloween or in the witching hour.

The Girl in Red by Christine Henry

img_3551.jpg

I’ve made no secret for my love for Christine Henry novels, and was so pleased to receive The Girl in Red. A take on the classic Red Riding Hood tale, this novel moves the Red myth into a dystopian, broken world, and the girl in red is not the damsel in distress that the original story featured, but a badass survivalist.

For fans of fairytales, Once Upon a Time and even The Walking Dead, I am never disappointed with Henry’s novels, and will definitely be rereading this again.

Turning Light into Darkness by Marie Brennan

IMG_3556.JPG

I’ve just started this book, and will be editing this paragraph to fit in my review, but it’s been such a joy to dive into Brennan’s epic fantasy world again. Who doesn’t want a little more dragon in their day to day life.

 

Leave a comment